Anime Loves: Best arrogant character

Ok, so I have decided to start up a mini-series called anime loves. What is anime loves you ask? Well, it’s a small series in which I look at some of my favourite characters from the anime world and simply discuss with you why I love them so much. Today, I thought I would start out with one of my favourite bad guys gone good.

vegeta

If there is one thing I am a sucker for in the anime world it’s got to be complex characters. I find it incredibly rewarding trying to understand their motives and why they behave the way that they do. One of my favourite characters from the Dragonball Z franchise definitely fits the bill of complicated – that’s right I’m talking about Vegeta.

He is just one my most favourite characters from this franchise, probably because he has been given the most character development in the series. He started out as a merciless and arrogant Prince who worked for the big bad Frieza. His behaviour early on in the series can be viewed as understandable considering his past and what he has been through. He lost his entire planet and race – and as a result had to deal with complete abuse from Frieza. His arrogant and hot-headed behaviour also boils down to the fact that he is royalty, allowing him to feel above pretty much anyone he ever comes into contact with.

vegeta and goku

But what really makes his character interesting to me is seeing the development from being a villain to hero. It certainly does not happen overnight, we watch him team up with the good guys for a short while, simply just to defeat a common enemy. Even after having a son with Bulma it becomes apparent he is still as selfish and cold as ever as he puts defeating the androids and Cell before the safety of his new family. I think the struggle of his character coming to grips with his attachment to his new family and home is what I enjoy most about Vegeta. His pride has always been his downfall but the moment he puts his friends and family first and even manages to put aside his rivalry with Goku to save planet earth shows incredible growth in his character. I love that Goku and Vegeta are still considered to be rivals but there is an element of friendship now rather than enemies.

Who are some of your favourite arrogant characters? Let me know in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Anime Loves: Best arrogant character

  1. Good one! I think that’s the biggest appeal when a character does have a strong personality trait such as pride, confidence or arrogance but somehow they are still really likeable to us as viewers.

    Like

Leave a comment