All time favourite anime theme tunes

Ok, so today I thought I would do something a little different. Aside from the drama, loveable characters and art styles many animes tend to have I am also a really big fan of the music. I would be lying if I said I didn’t have a secret place on my iPod with loads of my favourite opening and ending theme songs and yes I do sit their excited and looking forward to singing along before the series has even started. So here are a few of my all-time fav anime series songs. Don’t be shy sing along, I know I will be!

Haruhi Suzumiya

Such a catchy tune and learning the dance is so much fun too! Hats off to anyone who has managed to ace this routine.

Poke Rap song

Ok, this one brings back a lot of memories for me. Truthfully any Pokémon song from the original series could have made this list. But this one was always more of a challenge to remember all the Pokémon and in rap order.

Amnesia

I always got excited when the opening theme song for Amnesia started it was just so catchy. Even though I had no idea what they were talking about (I don’t speak Japanese) it had a rock/pop sound that I really liked. I still listen to this one from time to time…

Naruto Shippuden

The Bluebird opening is in my opinion one of the most enjoyable Naruto theme openings. It’s catchy and memorable, the perfect combination for a good theme tune.

Legend of Korra

The Avatar franchise is known for producing beautifully orchestrated music full stop. But I absolutely love the closing song for LOK. It’s just so beautiful, and whenever I hear it, it definitely evokes some form of emotion in me.

Kanon

It might be more on the peaceful than upbeat side but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable to sing along to.

School Rumble

No matter how many times I read the lyrics for this song I can never keep up. Nevertheless it is still one of my favourite ending theme songs to sing and dance along to.

Sword Art Online Season 1

Action and adventure is what this series is all about and I feel that opening theme song really captures that. It’s just a really memorable song and I often find myself humming it at random moments before realising where it actually came from.

Dragonball Z

Might not be the best song to sing along to, but it definitely wins nostalgic factor for me. This song brings back so many memories to when I first started watching the show on Cartoon Network.

Clannad

What better way to learn a new language than through song? I absolutely love this song, so much in fact that I often listen to it when I’m out and about. Reading the lyrics has definitely helped me understand the pronunciation of certain words, how they are spelt and sound in Japanese.

What are some of your most memorable anime opening and ending themes? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “All time favourite anime theme tunes

  1. This is an awesome list! Really loved all the music in LOK – especially the Red Lotus Theme. I’ve always really enjoyed the first Shingeki no Kyojin opening song and also the first two D.Gray-man openings :D.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 I love absolutely everything in Korra too music wise. book 3 and Korra alone ep in book 4 had some great stuff.

    Definitely have to check out these favourites of yours!

    Like

Leave a comment